booklet below entitled " FROM TANYARD TO WEARER, was published in
1928, the 50th anniversary of John Lees & Co. It gives a short but
fascinating description of the long and complex process of boot making. John
Lees & Co. was the last of ten shoe and boot factories in Maybole until it
was destroyed by fire in 1962. To learn more about the history of the shoe
industry in Maybole read this account in the book Maybole, Carrick's Capital, by
James T Gray here.
(Booklet contributed by Margaret Landsburgh) (Click on the images below to view the full page)